Parenting Struggles

Lately, I’ve been feeling really down.  I sometimes question what I’m doing wrong because I often think that if I do something different, then maybe, just maybe I may get the results that I’m looking for.  But what is it that I should do different?  I have not the slightest clue!

I try!  I try so hard but it’s like I’m invisible to her when it comes to that one thing.  She doesn’t listen!  I mean, I know she’s at that age now where she’s pushing boundaries but I think it’s safe to say that it’s way past that when it comes to me.  For whatever reason, I don’t know, my little princess refusing to just listen to me when I’m speaking to her.  I don’t know what else to do.

She makes everyone talk but it’s worse with me.  She knows her dad doesn’t mince matters and that he won’t hesitate to give her a ‘good cut ass’ when necessary but it’s like she purposely ignores ME.  I’ve tried talking to her nicely, same thing.  She’s gotten licks, same thing.  If I ignore her when she starts acting the fool, same thing.  It’s like nothing seems to work and currently she has this thing where once she can’t have her own way, she cries and cries and cries and sometimes it’s for no damn reason.  People would think we were killing her here!

Since school has closed, we’ve been going to bed really late.  I would normally let her watch a movie on her dad’s phone while I look at something on mines and a couple nights well, every time I take away the phone and tell her time to go to her bed(which most times is anywhere after 1-3 in the morning and she’s watched 2 movies back to back) she begins crying and screaming.  It’s extremely overbearing at this point because everyone else in the house is sleeping because they have to get up to go to work and she’s there screaming her lungs out as if she’s in agony….all because she doesn’t want to sleep in her bed and despite my many efforts to make her understand that it’s very uncomfortable for the 3 of us to sleep in our bed she just doesn’t get it.

There are even times when she falls aleep on our bed and when we decide to put her across in her bed, she jumps up saying that she’s not sleeping and begins crying and screaming.

I just don’t know what to do anymore.  If anyone has any advice to give, please leave them in the comments, it’ll be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

